2022 Finest Low-cost Automobile Insurance in Kansas – Motley Idiot
Kansas auto insurance laws
All drivers should familiarize themselves with these Kansas auto insurance laws:
Kansas is a no-fault auto insurance state
Kansas is a no-fault auto insurance state. This means that in the event of a multi-vehicle accident resulting in injury, each driver will have to settle with their own insurance. This differs from states of guilt, where the driver found guilty of the accident pays the medical bills for everyone involved.
Consequences for driving without insurance in Kansas
Driving without car insurance in Kansas can result in:
- Fines ranging from $300 to $1,000 for a first offense and $800 to $2,500 for a subsequent offense within three years
- Up to six months imprisonment
- driver's license suspension
- Suspension of Vehicle Registration
Minimum coverage requirements for Kansas
Drivers in Kansas must carry at least the following coverage:
Liability insurance for personal injury
Drivers must have at least:
- $25,000 Personal Injury Liability Insurance per person
- $50,000 liability insurance for personal injury per accident
Liability insurance for property damage
Drivers must also carry property damage liability insurance for a minimum of $25,000.
Uninsured and underinsured motorist coverage
Drivers require uninsured and underinsured motorist insurance in the same amounts as personal injury liability insurance listed above. Uninsured Motorist coverage applies if a policyholder is hit by an uninsured driver. Underinsured motorist coverage helps the policyholder pay the rest of the damage if they are hit by a driver who doesn't have enough insurance to pay for it all.
Personal Protection (PIP)
Kansas drivers must wear personal protective equipment (PIP). The minimum amount required by law is:
- $4,500 per person for medical expenses
- $900 per month for one year due to disability/loss of income
- $25 per day for in-house services
- $2,000 for funeral, burial, or cremation expenses
- $4,500 for rehabilitation expenses
How to get cheap car insurance in Kansas
Drivers looking for the cheapest auto insurance in Kansas should try the following:
- Compare the tariffs of several companies: Each insurer assesses the risk differently, which is why they all make different offers. Drivers should compare fares from multiple companies before choosing one.
- Check out all available discounts: Most insurers automatically apply discounts to an applicant's premiums, but there are some discounts that drivers must opt for. For example, driver monitoring programs typically require policyholder consent. Worth considering for those who want to be rewarded for good driving habits.
- Choose a higher deductible: Deductibles are the deductibles that a policyholder pays in the event of an accident. A higher choice usually lowers the premiums.
Other things to consider when looking for auto insurance in Kansas
Here are a few other things to consider when buying auto insurance in Kansas:
State minimum coverage may not be sufficient
Cheap car insurance can be tempting, but it can also lead to major financial problems in the event of an accident. If the damage exceeds the limits of his policy, the driver must pay the rest out of his own pocket. This can easily cost thousands or even tens of thousands of dollars. For this reason, it's often better to buy more than the state minimum coverage whenever possible.
State minimum coverage does not include coverage for the policyholder's vehicle
Those who want help paying for their own vehicle repairs after an accident will need to add collision and collision damage waiver insurance. Collision insurance applies if a driver is involved in an accident with another vehicle. Comprehensive coverage pays for damage related to an animal-vehicle collision, inclement weather, theft, vandalism and more.