Discover Auto Insurance in Oregon for a DUI – Bankrate.com
Your driving history is one of the most important factors that auto insurance companies consider when purchasing a policy. Even the most insignificant balance sheet is enough to make the annual motor insurance premiums possibly above average. And if a DUI conviction arises based on a driving report, drivers can be classified as risky, which often leads to higher premiums for the years to come. In Oregon, comprehensive insurance costs an average of $ 2,301 after a DUI, which is about 71% more than the state average of $ 1,346.
There were 153 alcohol-related road deaths in Oregon in 2018 alone, and the number has increased. For state residents who have been involved in a DUI, not only must Oregon DUI penalty laws and consequences be observed, but also the price you will have to pay for auto insurance if your driving records are no longer clean.
DUI laws in Oregon
Driving under the influence of intoxicants (DUII) can be classified as a regulatory or Class A crime in Oregon and can result in substantial penalties for convicts. If a driver is caught driving with a blood alcohol content (BAC) of 0.08% or higher, or under the influence of other controlled substances, prison sentences, community service, fines and driving license disqualification can be punished.
For the first offense, the prison sentence can vary from 48 hours to a year and can be shortened by 80 hours of community service. The associated fines are typically $ 1,000 or $ 2,000 if the BAC is greater than 0.15%, but can increase to $ 10,000 if there was a passenger under the age of 18 in the vehicle. The withdrawal of a driver's license and the need for an ignition lock can last a year. Jail terms are similar for the second Oregon DUI offense, although fines could start at $ 1,500, with up to three years of license suspension and two years of ignition lock.
The third and recurring offense can be classified as a Class C crime and can result in up to five years in prison, up to a $ 125,000 fine (if convicted), and permanent license suspension.
How a DUI Affects Your Oregon Auto Insurance
A DUII (or DUI) in Oregon can mean a huge blow to a driving record and typically stays there for 10 years. When there is a DUI on driving history, insurance companies generally consider it risky driver behavior because of the increased likelihood of causing an accident. This often leads to a higher annual premium as the insurer tries to protect itself against the additional risk taken. In addition to the price increase, drivers may also be denied coverage by some other insurance companies and their current insurer may also refuse to renew their policy.
The nationwide average cost of fully comprehensive auto insurance is $ 1,674 per year, and after DUI it increases to an average of $ 3,129 per year, an 87% increase. While Oregon's average for full coverage is slightly cheaper at $ 1,346 per year, it rises to an average of $ 2,301 per year after a DUII. If your license has been suspended, your insurance company may require you to submit a form SR-22 for you. Note that not all auto insurance companies submit SR-22 forms. To do this, you may need to use a third party service.
The following table shows the average premiums after a DUI in Oregon compared to the national average:
|Pre-DUI (DUI)||Post-DUI (DUI)||Percentage increase|
|Oregon||$ 1,346||$ 2,301||+ 71%|
|National average||$ 1,674||$ 3,139||+ 87%|
Find auto insurance after a DUI in Oregon
Finding auto insurance after a DUI conviction isn't impossible. The difficulty lies in getting affordable insurance coverage. In Oregon, the cheapest rates after a State Farm DUI can average around $ 1,248 per year for full coverage. Progressive follows at $ 1,528 per year on average. If you're willing to pay more, American Family in Oregon offers High Risk Comprehensive Insurance for an average of $ 2,001. Oregon residents could also find high-risk Country Financial coverage for an average of $ 1,965 per year. For military families, USAA could prove to be a good mid-year option, averaging $ 1,667 per year.
|Car insurance||Average annual premium after a DUI (DUII)|
|American family||$ 2,001|
|District farm||$ 1,248|
|Country finances||$ 1,965|
DUI convictions could potentially increase car insurance rates for at least 10 years while this remains in the driving record. However, the points for the incident alone can gradually decrease over time. Most insurers offer discounts to eligible customers, but it helps to build a clean driving report over two or three years to give as many discounts as possible. Safe driving is the first step in reducing your insured risk.
frequently asked Questions
How will a DUI in Oregon affect my criminal record?
In Oregon, a DUII will remain on the criminal record and on the driver's license for at least 10 years. Aside from car insurance, it can also affect other areas of a person's life. Whether you're renting a home or applying for a job, a criminal record with a DUI conviction can count as a factor in personal eligibility, especially when a clean history is required.
What is the difference between DUI and DWI?
DUI stands for Driving under the Influence and means DUII in Oregon for "Driving under the influence of intoxicants". DWI stands for driving in a drunk or impaired state. Both DUI and DWI mean essentially the same thing and can be used interchangeably in different states, although penalties may be different for each.
What is an SR-22?
If a driver's license is revoked after a DUI, drivers may need to submit an SR-22 license reinstatement form to the DMV from their insurance company. A Form SR-22 will determine that you have adequate financial and insurance coverage to be able to legally drive again. Not all insurance companies provide an SR-22 and the DMV has the right to reject your application if all conditions are not met.
Bankrate uses Quadrant Information Services to analyze 2021 rates for all postcodes and airlines in all 50 states and Washington, DC Coverage Limits:
- $ 100,000 personal injury liability per person
- $ 300,000 liability per accident
- $ 50,000 property damage liability per accident
- $ 100,000 personal injury from an uninsured motorist per person
- $ 300,000 personal injury to an uninsured driver per accident
- $ 500 deductible in case of collision
- $ 500 deductible
To set the minimum coverage limits, Bankrate has used minimum coverage that meets the requirements of each state. Our Basic Profile drivers own a 2019 Toyota Camry, commute five days a week and drive 12,000 miles a year.
These are sample rates and should only be used for comparison purposes.
Incident: The rates were calculated by evaluating our baseline profile with the following incidents applied: clean record (baseline) and single DUI conviction.