Discovering Auto Insurance in Missouri for a DUI – Bankrate.com
Getting a DUI in Missouri can increase your auto insurance premiums by an average of 64%, compared to the national average of 87%. While local costs are noticeably lower than national costs, a 63% increase is far from insignificant. Cost alone could make finding the right auto insurance for a DUI Missouri important. However, increased rates aren't the only barrier that might exist between drivers and affordable auto insurance if they are convicted of a DUI or DWI in Missouri. There is also the possibility of running into companies that refuse to work with high risk drivers and drivers may need more auto insurance than they think.
DWI laws in Missouri
Missouri DWI laws consider blood alcohol levels (BAC) of 0.08% a legal nuisance, resulting in potential DWIs if a driver continues to drive a vehicle. Laws are divided into two main categories, criminal and administrative. The first has to do with tickets issued, while the second is specifically about blood alcohol levels and whether or not you are taking a requested BAC test. The ticket can lead to the blocking or withdrawal of your driving license due to the addition of points to your ticket. However, administrative law states that a driver's license can either be suspended or revoked if his BAC is above the legal limit and a previous alcohol-related incident occurred in his five-year driving report, regardless of what the ticket was.
Like many states, Missouri penalizes DUI and DWI violations more heavily when it comes to repeat offenses. The first offense has a 90-day suspension, with a prison sentence of up to six months and fines of up to $ 1,000. The second offense results in a five-year license revocation, up to $ 2,000 in fines, and up to one year in prison. The third offense could result in up to ten years of license revocation, up to US $ 10,000 fines and up to four years in prison. Generally, these crimes must be committed within five consecutive years. In addition to these consequences, there are fees and steps associated with reinstating a license if it is suspended or revoked.
While the Missouri DWI penalty may seem steep to some, it's important to compare it to some of the more terrifying statistics on drinking and driving. Aside from the DWI costs Missouri drivers face, drunk driving affects the nation as a whole. For example, there are more than 10,000 drunk driving deaths each year. Drink-driving costs approximately $ 44 billion each year, between fatalities and damages. After seeing the effects of these incidents, it becomes easier to understand the consequences and penalties.
How a DWI Affects Your Missouri Auto Insurance
|Pre-DWI||Post DWI||Percentage increase|
|Missouri||$ 1,661||$ 2,717||+ 64%|
|National average||$ 1,674||$ 3,139||+ 87%|
One of the consequences of a DWI in Missouri is an increase in your auto insurance rates. In Missouri, auto insurance increases an average of 64% after a DWI conviction, compared to the national average of 87%. Auto insurance companies calculate policies for individual customers based on the financial risk that customers pose. After a conviction for a DUI or DWI, insurance companies often view a policyholder as a “risk driver” and increase the rates accordingly. This reflects that people convicted of a DUI or DWI are on average more likely to cause or be involved in car accidents than others.
Unfortunately, the difficulties don't stop there. A few other things can happen to auto insurance after being convicted of DUI. On the one hand, the state can require the convicted driver to wear a higher minimum liability limit in order to take his increased risk into account. Another reason is that some auto insurance companies may refuse coverage altogether. In some cases, a driver's current insurer may continue coverage until it expires and then refuse to extend it. For these reasons, it may be imperative to be strategic about purchasing auto insurance if you are convicted of a DUI.
Finding auto insurance from a DWI in Missouri
|Car insurance||Average annual premium according to a DWI|
|American family||$ 2,115|
|District farm||$ 1,983|
While finding auto insurance after a DWI can be more expensive and difficult, Missouri drivers may still have options. The table above highlights five of the larger auto insurance companies that tend to offer policies to some high-risk drivers, including those with a DWI conviction. The prices listed are average values and vary from customer to customer. Each of these companies has in metrics like the J.D. Power report performed well. Each also contributes a remarkable share of the automotive industry's market share. For customers, this means that it is usually more expensive to take out insurance with these companies after a DWI, but these insurers are well positioned to offer high quality coverage.
Shopping and comparing quotes is always important when looking for insurance, but comparing quotes comes in especially useful when looking for affordable auto insurance with a DWI. The above list can be a good place to start, and each of these companies have potential discounts for you to qualify for. Much like getting quotes from multiple companies to find the best rates for you, comparing legitimate discounts between companies can help you keep your car insurance rates down.
frequently asked Questions
How will a DWI in Missouri affect my criminal record?
In Missouri, DWI and DUI convictions remain on the criminal record for at least 10 years. However, after the 10 years, drivers may have the option to overturn the conviction. If you are not convicted or otherwise dismissed, it will not be included on your file.
What is the best auto insurance after a DWI?
Because there are so many variables, it can be difficult to pinpoint one company as the best. However, individuals convicted of a DWI can benefit from focusing on auto insurance companies that have worked with high risk drivers in the past. Consider starting with the companies known to offer auto insurance for drivers with DUI.
How Much Auto Insurance Do I Need After a DWI in Missouri?
You must at least meet standard government requirements for coverage. However, you may have to bear a higher minimum liability limit due to the DUI conviction.
Bankrate uses Quadrant Information Services to analyze 2021 rates for all zip codes and airlines in all 50 states and Washington, DC Coverage Limits:
- $ 100,000 personal injury liability per person
- $ 300,000 liability per accident
- $ 50,000 property damage liability per accident
- $ 100,000 personal injury from an uninsured motorist per person
- $ 300,000 personal injury to an uninsured driver per accident
- $ 500 deductible in case of collision
- $ 500 deductible
In order to set the minimum coverage limits, Bankrate has used minimum coverage that meets the requirements of the individual states. Our Basic Profile drivers own a 2019 Toyota Camry, commute five days a week and drive 12,000 miles a year.
These are sample rates and should only be used for comparison purposes.
Incident: The rates were calculated by evaluating our baseline profile with the following incidents applied: clean record (baseline) and single DUI conviction.