Discovering Auto Insurance in North Dakota for a DUI – Bankrate.com

Getting a DUI in North Dakota can have serious consequences. The average increase in auto insurance premium after a DUI conviction in North Dakota is 89% annually. Prices range from a pre-DUI average of $ 1,264 per year to an average of $ 2,395 per year post-DUI. You can also face fines, license disqualifications, and even jail time. If you are a repeat offender, the penalties can be even more severe.

You're considered legally impaired in North Dakota if you have a blood alcohol level (BAC) of 0.08. This limit is 0.04 for drivers who drive a commercial vehicle and 0.02 for drivers under the age of 21. North Dakota also reserves the right to charge drivers a DUI if their BAC is below these limits but their driving behavior is compromised. If you've received a North Dakota DUI, you may be wondering how this will affect your auto insurance. Bankrate's research can help you see the consequences of a DUI.

DUI laws in North Dakota

The DUI penalties in North Dakota are severe. For example, a first offense could result in a $ 500 fine if your BAC is below 0.16, and two days in jail and a $ 750 fine if your BAC is above 0.16. If the BAC is below 0.18, you may also be held liable for a 91 day suspension of your license. If you have a BAC above 0.18, the suspension will last 180 days. You can also face an addiction assessment.

Second and third offenses within seven years increase both fines and potential imprisonment. If you hit four or more DUIs in 15 years, you could face more than a year in prison, a $ 2,000 fine, two years probation, and more. At this point, your offense is considered a Class C crime, a serious classification that can remain on your criminal record for life.

North Dakota DWI cost may also include participation in the state's 24/7 sobriety program. This program requires regular alcohol testing at your own expense. If the person fails the test, they can be taken into custody and detained immediately.

If you are found to be impaired while an underage child is in your car, you can face up to a year in prison and a $ 2,000 fine, even if it is a first offense. Refusing to undergo a chemical alcohol test is also a crime and can result in you losing your driving license between 180 days and three years.

Eventually, if you have an accident that injures another person, you can spend up to five years in prison. If someone is killed in a DUI or DWI accident you caused, you can go to jail for up to 20 years.

How a DUI Affects Your North Dakota Auto Insurance

The cost of a DUI in North Dakota goes beyond state penalties; Your conviction is also likely to have a serious impact on your car insurance premium. The average increase in auto insurance premium following a DUI conviction in both North Dakota and across the country is nearly 90%. That means a DUI in North Dakota could nearly double your premium.

Car insurance rates increase after a DUI as rates are based on risk. Someone with a DUI or DWI has engaged in risky behavior behind the wheel and could likely do so again, which could result in an accident and a subsequent insurance claim. In order to take account of the increased risk of damage, car insurance companies usually increase the tariffs for high-risk drivers.

Instead of an increased premium, your insurance provider cannot extend your policy. Some insurers are simply unwilling to take the increased risk of a driver with DUI. You may need to shop around and find a new insurer willing to take on your higher level of risk.

Pre-DUI Post DUI Percentage increase
North Dakota $ 1,264 $ 2,395 + 89%
National average $ 1,674 $ 3,139 + 88%

Find auto insurance for a DUI in North Dakota

After a DWI in North Dakota, you are likely to see a significant increase in premiums, but you may be able to find cheaper rates. Based on research by Bankrate, Allstate, American Family, Nationwide, and USAA offer some of the cheapest rates after a North Dakota DUI.

When trying to lower your car insurance, there are a few things to keep in mind. You could look for insurers that offer multiple discounts that you qualify for as discounts can cut your rate significantly. You can also think about the type of vehicle you drive which will have a huge impact on your premium.

Car insurance Average annual premium after a DUI
Allstate $ 2,807
American family $ 2,052
Nationwide $ 2,018
USAA $ 1,959

frequently asked Questions

How will a DUI in North Dakota affect my criminal record?

First through third DUI violations within seven years are considered a crime in North Dakota, while fourth and subsequent violations within 15 years are considered Class C crimes. These will likely stay on your criminal record for life. When it comes to insurance tariffs, most companies charge a DUI surcharge for five to seven years from the date of conviction. After this period – which varies depending on the company – your tariffs may be reduced significantly, provided that you have been able to keep a clean driving report since the DUI.

How Much Auto Insurance Do I Need in North Dakota?

North Dakota requires drivers to carry at least the following minimum coverage limits:

  • $ 25,000 liability per person
  • $ 50,000 liability per accident
  • $ 25,000 property damage liability per accident
  • $ 25,000 uninsured motor vehicle injury per person
  • $ 50,000 personal injury to an uninsured driver per accident
  • $ 25,000 bodily harm to an underinsured driver per person
  • $ 50,000 personal injury caused by an underinsured driver per accident
  • $ 30,000 Personal Injury Protection (PIP)

While these are the minimum requirements to drive legally, you may want to purchase higher limits for greater financial protection. You may also want to add fully comprehensive and collision insurance, which means that you are buying a fully comprehensive policy. If you have a loan or lease on your vehicle, your financial institution is likely to require full coverage.

methodology

Bankrate uses Quadrant Information Services to analyze 2021 rates for all zip codes and airlines in all 50 states and Washington, DC Coverage Limits:

  • $ 100,000 liability per person
  • $ 300,000 liability per accident
  • $ 50,000 property damage liability per accident
  • $ 100,000 in driver assault per person
  • $ 300,000 personal injury to an uninsured driver per accident
  • $ 500 deductible in case of collision
  • $ 500 deductible

In order to set the minimum coverage limits, Bankrate has used a minimum coverage that meets the requirements of each country. Our Basic Profile drivers own a 2019 Toyota Camry, commute five days a week, and drive 12,000 miles a year.

These are sample rates and should only be used for comparison purposes.

Incident: The rates were calculated by evaluating our base profile using the following incidents: clean record (base), fault accident, single speeding, single DUI conviction, and expiry of cover.

Comments are closed.