Illinois State Minimal Necessities and Legal guidelines for Motor Insurance (2021)
Whether you're on Lake Shore Drive in Chicago or on the way to the Capitol in Springfield, you need a Car insurance policy to stay legally on the move in Illinois. Expect heavy penalties for getting caught by law enforcement without it Proof of insurance, and the consequences can be even more devastating financially if you cause an accident.
Fortunately, getting insurance doesn't have to set you back. with Assure, you can compare Insurance offers from top national companies and local transport companies to make you one Insurance policy that happens Illinois government requirements and fits into your budget. Finding the best deal takes minutes, and Insurify users save an average of $ 585 on auto insurance annually.
Save on car insurance with Insurify
Minimum requirements for car insurance In Illinois
Illinois law requires all motorists to purchase the following minimum amounts of liability insurance:
- $ 25,000 per person in Liability insurance for personal injury
- $ 50,000 per accident in Liability insurance for personal injury
- $ 20,000 for Liability insurance for property damage
Personal Injury Cover helps to pay Medical bills for the other driver and his passengers in the event of an accident caused by you. It does not cover your own medical expenses and may not be enough to protect you from legal action if you have one car accident that hurts someone badly.
>>> MORE: How Much Car Insurance Do I Need?
Property damage coverage helps pay for repairs to other people's property in the event of an accident you caused. It doesn't help in repairing your own vehicle.
is state minimum car insurance enough in Illinois?
Since the Minimum liability insurance by doing State of Illinois in the event of an accident that you cause does not help to cover the damage to your vehicle, you should definitely consider getting a comprehensive and Collision protection. Comprehensive coverage helps pay for repairs to your vehicle after non-collision events, such as vandalism or hail, while collision insurance covers repairs to your vehicle after an accident.
Also, keep in mind that the minimum coverage limits set by the Illinois Department of Insurance may not provide adequate protection. According to the Insurance Information Institute, this is the average Liability for injuries The claim in 2019 was $ 18,417, but medical costs can rise slightly higher than what Compulsory insurance covers. Consider talking to yours Insurance agent about higher limits for your Liability insurance.
What is the penalty for driving without car insurance in Illinois?
If you drive without Illinois auto insurance, you can be fined heavily by law enforcement agencies. What you can expect:
- First offense: a fine of at least $ 500 plus freezing yours driver's license until you pay $ 100 Reinstatement Fee and offer Proof of insurance
- Second offense: a fine of at least $ 500 plus freezing yours driver's license for a minimum of four months and $ 100 Reinstatement Fee
- Third and further offenses: a fine of at least $ 500 plus freezing yours driver's license for a minimum of four months and $ 100 Reinstatement Fee; a requirement to submit an SR-22 certificate for three years or the loss of yours driver's license
You can't drive your car Motor vehicle while License plates are exposed. If you are caught driving your car while registration for driving without insurance is suspended, the minimum fine increases to $ 1,000.
>>> MORE: Car insurance for risk drivers
If you don't pay for it Reinstatement Fee and offer Proof of insurance in front of your driver's license You will also need to keep an SR-22 certificate on file for three years when the suspension takes effect.
Minimum requirements in Illinois for SR-22 guidelines
To provide evidence of financial responsibility, drivers who have received judicial oversight for driving without insurance or convicted of their third or further Compulsory insurance Violation must submit an SR-22 certificate for three years. Your insurance will output this form to show that you have the Specify minimum insurance coverage for motor vehicles In Illinois. There are no additional requirements for the SR-22 Insurance policies In Illinois.
Additional coverage Illinois driver Should be considering
According to the Insurance Information Institute, about 12 percent of Illinois drivers do not have auto insurance coverage despite the state's insurance laws. To protect your finances in the event of an accident with a uninsured driver or a hit-and-run, you should buy Injury to the uninsured driver and uninsured motorist property damage protection as.
Medical payments Insurance coverage can also help supplement your health insurance and pay for your expenses Injuries after an accident. This type of coverage is especially important if you have a highDeductible Health plan.
>>> MORE: Motor Insurance Appraisers
You should also consider roadside assistance and rental car reimbursement insurance, especially if you need your vehicle to get to work. Roadside Assistance can help you get back on the road faster after a flat tire or dead battery, and it also helps you get your vehicle to a repair shop. If your car is out of service at the mechanic's, rental car cover reimbursement ensures you can keep up with your life.
Save on car insurance with Insurify
Frequently Asked Questions: Illinois Minimum Car Insurance
Is Auto Insurance Mandatory in Illinois?
Yes. Car insurance is mandatory in the state of Illinois. Drivers must have at least $ 25,000 per person and $ 50,000 per accident in personal injury and at least $ 20,000 in property damage coverage.
Is There Alternative Evidence of Financial Responsibility in Illinois?
Yes. Alternative evidence of financial responsibility in Illinois includes depositing $ 70,000 in cash or securities with the Illinois State Treasurer, depositing a letter of surety, and depositing an approved real estate bond.
In what situations do drivers in Illinois have the right to sue?
Illinois is a delict state, which means drivers can sue culpable motorists for damage or injury beyond their insurance company's coverage. The driver must sue for damages within two years of an accident and for damage to property within five years. Unlawful death claims must be filed within one year of the death concerned. Illinois also uses a comparative error system so the plaintiff's share of the error must be less than 50 percent in order to claim damages.
Updated August 19, 2021
Lindsay Frankel is a full-time freelance writer who specializes in personal finance and insurance topics. Her work has been featured in publications such as LendingTree, The Balance, Coverage.com, Bankrate, NextAdvisor and FinanceBuzz. For the past year she wrote about auto insurance for Insurify.