Minnesota State Minimal Necessities and Legal guidelines for Motor Insurance (2021)
There is nothing more exciting than going to the places that you can't wait to see. Of course, this only applies if you are properly insured.
In the state of Minnesota, drive without Car insurance has serious consequences. If you don't wear the minimum Car insurance protection the State Law You could face hefty fines and even a potential jail term.
Ride uninsured is just not worth the risk. Especially if you are one Insurance policy that happens Coverage requirements In Minnesota is a lot easier and cheaper than you might think. Use a comparison tool like Insurify to compare real-world auto insurance quotes from dozen of companies in less than five minutes and save an average of $ 489 per year.
Save on car insurance with Insurify
minimum Requirements for car insurance In Minnesota
Car insurance protects you from financial loss after a car accident or Mayhem. You agree to pay a certain monthly premium and the insurance company undertakes to cover any financial damage you may suffer. Insurance policies come with others Deductibles (what you will have to pay out of pocket before your insurance takes effect) and withdrawal limits (the maximum amount you can insurer covers).
Drive in legally Minnesota, you have to wear this Minimum amount the cover State Law requires. You need at least Liability insurance, Protection against personal injury (PIP) Cover, uninsured motorist Cover, and underinsured motorist protection.
- Liability insurance: If you are to blame for an accident, Liability insurance covers damage to the other driver's vehicle. It also covers Mayhem that the other driver kept up. Liability insurance does not apply to damage to your vehicle or yours Mayhem.
- Personal Injury Protection (PIP): If you are injured after an accident and suffer economic damage as a result of this accident, this policy covers your medical bills, lost wages and Alternative services for you and your household members. Minnesota is a error-free conditionso PIP offers insurance coverage regardless of who caused the accident. This is why PIP is also known as no-fault insurance.
- Uninsured driver protection: When you run out of yours PIP coverage, uninsured motorist Cover pays off for your medical expenses. This also applies if the other driver was at fault but drove uninsured.
- Underinsurance coverage for drivers: This cover is also an extension of yours Protection against personal injury (PIP) Cover, and you can use it when the other driver's fault but doesn't have enough Liability insurance to cover yours medical expenses.
Your Insurance policy must cover certain amounts of damage in order to satisfy Minnesota Law. Noisy Minnesota Department of Commerce, you must have the following minimum restrictions to legally drive:
|Liability insurance||$ 30,000 Liability for injuries per person
$ 60,000 Liability for injuries per accident
$ 10,000 Property damage liability per accident
|Personal Injury Protection (PIP)||$ 40,000 in Mayhem per person
($ 20,000 to cover medical expenses and $ 20,000 for non-medical expenses, like lost wages and Alternative services)
|Uninsured motorist protection||$ 25,000 Mayhem per person
$ 50,000 in Mayhem per accident
|Underinsurance for drivers||$ 25,000 Mayhem per person
$ 50,000 in Mayhem per accident
Remember that if you lease your vehicle or bought it with a loan, yours Lender may require that you have collision and fully comprehensive insurance in addition to the minimum required Car insurance in Minnesota.
>>> MORE: Free motor insurance offers
is State minimum Car insurance enough in Minnesota?
The minimum Car insurance is what you need to legally enter Minnesota. But you can consider higher Coverage Limits if, in the event of an accident, you want enough to fully cover damage and feel safer behind the wheel.
How much insurance coverage you need depends on your budget and your vehicle. So do the math and get the policy that gives you the protection you need.
There are also certain claims for which the required minimum coverage does not apply, such as:
- Damage to your vehicle after an accident
- Damage to your vehicle after impact with an object, e.g. B. a fence or a tree
- Damage from hitting an animal
- Natural disasters such as floods and fires
If you want to protect yourself from this damage, you can get your Car insurance policy.
- Collision protection: This policy covers repair costs if your vehicle is damaged in an accident involving another vehicle or object. It also compensates you for the real cash value of your vehicle when that is added up. Collision protection is a great addition to your liability insurance, so that not only the other driver's vehicle is insured, but yours as well.
- Comprehensive insurance coverage: This coverage option complements Collision protection and covers damage to your vehicle that occurs during an event other than a collision with another vehicle or object. It applies if your vehicle is stolen, damaged, or needs to be repaired after a natural disaster or collision with an animal.
Adding collision and full coverage to yours Insurance policy is a great way to protect yourself from high expenses.
>>> MORE: Cheap car insurance
What is the penalty for driving without it Car insurance In Minnesota?
Ride uninsured In Minnesota is illegal under government regulations Insurance laws. You must at least have the Minimum coverage driving legally or your driving will be counted as an offense.
If you do not provide evidence of financial responsibility upon transfer, the officer will issue you with a subpoena. The Department of Public Safety will send you a written notice requesting you to do so within 10 working days Proof of insurance. If you don't provide any information Proof of insurance You face serious legal and financial consequences within the next 10 working days.
If you can provide Proof of insurance You will not incur any further consequences within 10 working days from the date of issue of the notification.
Legal and financial penalties and fines for uninsured Driver in Minnesota increase dramatically after your second offense.
You can expect a fine of between $ 200 and $ 1,000 for your first and second offenses; a suspension from you driver's license, Registration and license plates for up to 30 days; and possible community service. You will also have to pay a restoration fee of $ 30 and a fee of SR-22. Your vehicle can also be confiscated.
After your second offense, you can expect higher fines of between $ 200 and $ 3,000; Suspension from you driver's license, Registration and license plates up to one year; possible community service; and / or up to 90 days in prison. You will also have to pay a restoration fee of $ 30 and a fee of SR-22. Your vehicle could be confiscated and you could be found guilty of gross misconduct.
Minimum requirements in Minnesota for SR-22 guidelines
If you've been caught driving without Car insurance in Minnesota, you'll need a special form called SR-22 to get back on the road.
An SR-22 is a special shape that proves you're wearing the minimum Car insurance coverage needed by State Law. It is also known as the “Certificate of Financial Responsibility” or “SR-22 Bond”.
If you get caught driving a car uninsured and now needing an SR-22, the first step is buying one Car insurance policy. Remember that some Insurance companies Do not offer cover for an SR-22. If you are buying a new policy you should research which one insurer provide coverage with an SR-22 and leave yours Insurance agent know in advance that you need it.
Sound like too much work? It is. Instead of spending hours researching Insurance companies and fill out the same questionnaire over and over again, use AI-assisted Assure to compare dozens of real ones Car insurance tariffs and find the best option that suits yours Driving record with just a few clicks.
>>> MORE: Motor Insurance Appraisers
>>> MORE: Best insurance for SR22
Additional coverage Minnesota driver Should be considering
If you have minor gaps in your Car insurance coverage, you can consider optional add-ons to complement your policy for more complete protection.
- Roadside Assistance: You can add this coverage to your policy to ensure you have access to the services you need when you are stuck with a dead battery or run out of gas. Life happens, and breakdown insurance is a great option if you want to avoid unpleasant surprises.
- Gap insurance: Also known as "Guaranteed Asset Protection", this add-on covers the difference between the amount you owe for your car and the actual cash value after an accident resulting in a total loss. You can also consider bridging the gap when you lease or pay off your car, and some Lender might require.
Another popular add-on is MedPay, also known as Medical Payment Coverage. This policy can cover expenses such as medical bills, ambulance fees, and funeral expenses. However, Minnesota Law already requires wearing PIP (Protection against personal injury), which offers more extensive coverage than MedPay. So, for a driver in Minnesota, MedPay coverage is unnecessary.
Save on car insurance with Insurify
Frequently Asked Questions: Minnesota Minimum Car Insurance
Is Car Insurance Mandatory in Minnesota?
Yes. Car insurance is mandatory in Minnesota, and driving without insurance can have serious legal and financial consequences. If you are caught driving without insurance, your insurance premiums are also likely to be much higher than average. Use Insurify to receive personalized quotes from dozens of companies in parallel to get the best deal.
In what situations do Minnesota drivers have the right to sue?
Minnesota is a flawless auto insurance state. That means you usually use your personal protection insurance to cover your medical bills, lost wages and other accident-related expenses, regardless of who was to blame for the accident. Use Insurify to compare 10+ personalized offers in less than five minutes to find the best personal injury protection policy for you.
Is there alternative evidence of financial responsibility in Minnesota?
Minnesota drivers must demonstrate their financial responsibility for driving, and auto insurance is the easiest way to do it. Alternatively, you can also pay a deposit to the DMV. The minimum security deposit in Minnesota is 1.5 times the appraised value of your vehicle. You can also make a cash deposit with the DMV to demonstrate in good faith that you can cover any damage you cause and suffer.
Updated August 19, 2021
Polina Solovyeva is a freelance copywriter for mission-driven brands and entrepreneurs. When she's not writing, you can find her doing long-distance running or bachata dancing. To learn more, visit their copywriting agency Deeper than Copy at deepthancopy.com.