What Each Motorist Ought to Know: What Your License Plates Say About Your Automobile Insurance Standing – WZZM13.com
All the officer has to do is drag you over and check your license plates.
He or she will know right away if you have auto insurance.
In fact, they don't even have to pull you over.
The police can check your license plates on the street and if you turn up uninsured the officer can stop you and issue you a ticket.
Michigan auto insurance companies are required to notify the Michigan Secretary of State every 14 days of the vehicles they are insuring, according to Brandon Hewitt, an attorney for Michigan Auto Law.
This data is available to the police via the Law Enforcement Information Network (LEIN), which police officers can access via their in-car computers.
Hewitt said in 2015 the Michigan Police Department received permission to access the LEIN system from their vehicle computers.
He said it was dangerous to drive in Michigan without insurance, and this makes it difficult for people to do so without getting caught.
Hewitt cited some of the dangers of driving without auto insurance in Michigan:
- To be found guilty of a wrongdoing
- I have to pay a fine between $ 200 and $ 500
- Up to a year in prison
- Have your driving license revoked
- It is forbidden to renew your vehicle registration
- Disqualification from suing the culpable driver who injured you in an accident for compensation for pain and suffering
- Exclusion from the reimbursement of no-fault benefits to cover medical bills and lost wages after an injury in a car accident
- Sued and held financially liable for other people's medical bills and lost wages injured in an accident you were involved in while driving your own uninsured vehicle – even if you were 100% not responsible for the car accident
For more information or to speak to an attorney, call 833-411-MICH or visit www.michiganautolaw.com.