Wisconsin State Minimal Necessities and Legal guidelines for Motor Insurance (2021)

Every driver in Wisconsin needs auto insurance to legally stay on the road. The insurance not only protects you from penalties and fines, but also protects your finances in the event of an accident. Medical expenses and repairs can be very expensive. Fortunately a good one Insurance policy does not have to be.

Wisconsinites can find an affordable one Car insurance policy Simply by comparing individual offers from a multitude of different ones Insurance companies. And with Assure, you can quickly and easily view your estimated prices in one place. You just have to answer a few questions about your vehicle and Driving record, and our artificial intelligence technology will help you find the best deal.

Save on car insurance with Insurify

minimum Requirements for car insurance In Wisconsin

Wisconsin law requires drivers to be displayed Proof of insurance at traffic controls and accidents if requested by law enforcement authorities. Wisconsin does not require drivers to view Proof of insurance a. Receive driver's license or registration, but drivers and vehicle owners must meet the following minimum government requirements Insurance coverage:

  • $ 10,000 Liability insurance for property damage
  • $ 25,000 per person in Liability insurance for personal injury
  • $ 50,000 per accident in Liability insurance for personal injury

>>> MORE: How Much Car Insurance Do I Need?

Property damage liability insurance covers the repair or replacement of the other driver's vehicle in the event of an accident caused by you. Your own repairs are not covered. Also physically Injury protection helps to pay the medical bills for the other driver and his passengers in the event of an accident caused by you. It won't help paying for your own medical expenses.

Is state minimum Car insurance enough in Wisconsin?

Wisconsin's auto insurance laws require relatively low liability limits. The $ 10,000 Property damage Insurance coverage may not be sufficient if you are involved in an accident with a new vehicle that has been declared a total loss. While the average personal injury claim in 2019 was $ 18,417, according to the Insurance Information Institute, the cost of medical care can be as high as that Minimum amount from Car insurance coverage In Wisconsin.

Liability insurance Also does not cover repairs to your vehicle if you cause an accident. That's why Wisconsin driver should urgently think about buying Collision protection and comprehensive coverage. The accident insurance covers repairs to your vehicle in a car accident While taking full insurance, they cause non-collision events such as theft and vandalism.

Most drivers, especially those with highDeductible Health plans should also consider purchasing Health insurance coverageto help you pay your hospital bills in the event of an accident caused by you.

What is the penalty for driving without it Car insurance In Wisconsin?

All drivers in Wisconsin must have proof of insurance. Whether you drive in Milwaukee or Madison, the Ministry of Transport requires that you have a policy that the Minimum limits of the state.

If an official demands Proof of insurance and you don't have it in your car, you could be fined up to $ 10. But if you get caught driving a car Motor vehicle without active Insurance policy, the punishment is much worse. You can face a fine of up to $ 500 if you don't have a policy with the right Coverage. And if you get caught viewing by scammers Proof of insurance, you can be fined up to $ 5,000.

>>> MORE: Car insurance for risk drivers

Not only will you have to pay a fine if you drive without insurance, but your driving permits will be up to yours insurer drops an SR-22. And since an SR-22 requirement indicates that you are a high risk driver, you can with your Insurance premiums also increase. If you haven't Car insurance in the event of an accident, your registration and driver's license can be suspended for up to three years.

If you have any questions about compliance with your policy Wisconsin Requirements, contact your Insurance agent or the Office of the Insurance Commissioner.

Minimum requirements in Wisconsin for SR-22 guidelines

Wisconsinites previously caught driving without insurance must file an SR-22 with the DMV to restore their driving privileges. The SR-22 shows that you are one Insurance policy that meets the state minimum Car insurance requirements. The insurance requirements for drivers with SR-22 are the same as the state minimum, which means your policy should cover:

  • $ 10,000 per accident in Liability insurance for property damage
  • $ 25,000 per person in Liability insurance for personal injury
  • $ 50,000 per accident in Liability insurance for personal injury

>>> MORE: Best insurance for SR22

Additional coverage Wisconsin driver Should be considering

About 13 percent of drivers in Wisconsin don't have auto insurance. If you're at a hit-and-run or get hit by an uninsured driver, you could be on the hook for your own medical bills and repairs unless you have underinsured/ uninsured driver (UIM) Cover. this Car insurance protection is strongly recommended.

If you depend on your vehicle for work or everyday activities, you should also consider roadside assistance. This can help you get back on the road faster after a flat tire, lockdown, or other breakdown. And rental car refunds can come in handy when your car needs major repairs.

>>> MORE: Motor Insurance Appraisers

Adding these covers will make your Insurance costsIt is still possible to save money on your annual premium by using the insurance company that gives you the lowest offer. Actually insure Users can save up to $ 996 a year by switching. Insurify can help you find the lowest Insurance tariffs near you so you can get better coverage for less money.

Save on car insurance with Insurify

Frequently Asked Questions: Frequently asked questions about Wisconsin Minimum Car Insurance

Is Auto Insurance Mandatory in Wisconsin?

Yes. All drivers in Wisconsin must have $ 10,000 or more property damage liability insurance and $ 25,000 personal injury liability insurance per person and $ 50,000 per accident.

In what situations do drivers in Wisconsin have the right to sue?

Wisconsin has a tort system in place that means drivers can file lawsuits against another driver who damages their property or causes them injury. Drivers have three years from the date of the accident to file a personal injury or property damage claim and three years from the day of the victim's death to file an unlawful death claim.

Is there alternative evidence of financial responsibility in Wisconsin?

Yes. If you don't want to get auto insurance, an insurance company deposit or a $ 60,000 DMV cash deposit may be accepted instead.

Updated August 19, 2021

Lindsay Frankel is a full-time freelance writer who specializes in personal finance and insurance topics. Her work has been featured in publications such as LendingTree, The Balance, Coverage.com, Bankrate, NextAdvisor and FinanceBuzz. For the past year she wrote about auto insurance for Insurify.

Comments are closed.